Richard Klaus Thoughts

The World according to Richard Klaus..Trains, Planes, Cars, Wales,Scotland.

Horizon Air , A ramp workers veiw.

Sometime after I began working for Lockeed in Portland, Oregon, a little airline “Horizon Air” started up. They showed up in Portland with a half dozen used Fairchild F-27s. These where small twin turboprop, regional planes. The fleet gave the impression of being very tired.

One whole gate, next to Western Airlines, and so it began. I remember during those first few months, two of their gate, ramp personnel were trying to reposition the overnight plane at the gate. At that time Horizon didn’t own a bag tug, much less an aircraft tug. A couple of us sat across the ramp having just parked an Eastern 727 back at the gate, and watched the show. Towing an aircraft is not as easy as it looks, and these two where finding out how many ways the job can be done wrong. After a while, I drove our aircraft tug over, and offered to park the plane for them. This one would be on the house.

Since those days, Horizon has managed to find a slot in the Northwest, and fit themselves into it quite nicely. Haven’t ridden on their jets, but a recent trip took me to Missoula , Montana. The trip, to pick my truck up from a shop, would have taken two of us two days and a lot of gas in whatever car we drove out there. The flight, or rather two flights, seemed the best way to get there.

The flight to Seattle a little less than an hour was on one of the smaller Bombardier Q 200s, about the size of the old Fairchild F-27s. Short flight, but the solo attendant , did bring coffee around. The Q 200 is somewhat quieter than the F27 that it replaces.

Then from Seattle to Missoula, about 2 hours, I rode on a Q 400. The larger version of the Q200, or so it seems. About 70 seats for the Q400, the Q200 being in the 40 range. I might be mistaken , but I think the 400 is a little louder than the 200. There seemed to be a drumming in the longer fuselage, still a nice ride, and with the bigger plane you get two flight attendants, and unlike some big airlines (UNITED) they bring around coffee, wine, beer (quite a good micro brew), some snacks, and unlike the big airline, they don’t charge you for them.

I know that in the early days, I wondered at time how long Horizon would be around. I’d seen a couple airlines come and go Air Oregon, and Pacific Express come to mind.

Someone remind me to tell the Pacific Express story one of these days, we’re all lucky they when out off business before they killed someone.

Anyway back to Horizon. They have found their niche, and seem to fit it well. Being under the “wing” of Alaska Airlines can’t hurt. A lot of people take Horizon to Seattle or Portland, then jump to Alaska Air to go on their way.

I wish them the best, they have worked for it.

February 3, 2008 Posted by | Airline Stories | | Leave a comment

Expedia may have lost a customer

I’ve bought a lot of tickets through Expedia.com. We see if that happens again. Got a round rip to Manchester, England for my oldest daughter. Was in a bit of a hurry and ticked the wrong return trip. Instead of a direct from Manchester to Chicago, then on to Phoenix, she will be going to London, then Chicago.

I realised the mistake within minutes, but there was not way to correct the problem on line. An E-Mail to Expedia returned a stock answer, from the computer. The next day a short phone call, resulted in a less personal touch than I’d gotten from the computer.

Today a couple of e-mails back and forth resulted in nothing but frustration. Mind you this is a 5 month advance purchase, and could be fixed. I was in the airline business for 18 years, and I know what can be done. This is simply a case of somebody not wanting to pick up a phone. This was ticket number 10 in a two year span, seven of them to the U.K. It seems like after nearly $7,000 in ticket purchases with Expedia, they could have fixed the one problem I’ve had.
I guess it’s not the end of the world that Avrila will have to spend 11 hours at Heathrow, but the other trip would have been quicker for her and cheaper for the airline.

Having said all that. BMI (British Midland) is a great airline, super service, nice people. I’ll continue to use their service. As I have the last two years.

Manchester is a great airport to enter the U.K. at. For much of England, Scotland, and Wales, Manchester is more centrally located. There’s a train station at the airport, and your a short train ride to Manchester Picadilly, the main train station for Manchester. From there you can catch a train pretty much anywhere in the U.K.

I’ll be going again, but probably book through BMI direct.

I know that the saying “The customers always right” isn’t really true, but, “The customer is Always the customer.”

February 3, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , | 1 Comment