Richard Klaus Thoughts

The World according to Richard Klaus..Trains, Planes, Cars, Wales,Scotland.

747 called A-380s ugly Cousin?

Some time ago, I ran across a blog where the newest version of the Boeing  747 was referred to as the Airbus A-380s “ugly cousin”.

I submit photos of both, you decide.

OK the A-380 is bigger, but wow.

The 747-8 photo I found is of the freighter prototype that will be tested then delivered to Cargolux.  I my humble opinion the freighter with the classic 747 upper deck is by far better looking the it’s passenger carrying stablemate the 747-8 Intercontinental.

How anybody could prefer the looks of the Airbus, I can’t understand. I mean this is real Corvette verses Mack Truck stuff.

And really, 25 years from now. Which plane do you think will still be flying?

Hint:  There are still first generation 747s, most now converted to freighters in the air at any given moment.

I’ll be expanding this post in a day or two. Just got to get some head to head figures for the two planes. Yes the Airbus is bigger, but you might be surprised by the “Seat mile costs” of both.

As always comment away.

Just a quick additional note:  If it’s possible I’m going to be in Everett, Washington for the “First Flight” next month. Will know for sure once the date is set.  If so I’ll have a ton of photos of the event.

December 31, 2009 - Posted by | Aircraft, Airline Stories | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment